Invisible Agent
Netlabel | Vinyl | Electronica | Breakbeat | Electro | Techno | Podcasts | Reviews


Album Release: ZoiD – Selected ZoiDworks 05-12

ZoiD – Selected ZoiDworks 05-12

Selected ZoiDworks 05-12, from ZoiD, the electronica alias of Dublin musician Daniel Jacobson and the latest addition to the genre-warping series of album releases from net label Invisible Agent.

Available now on BandCamp, Amazon, iTunes, Emusic, Google Play, spotify, LastFM, and 100+ other stores.


“Utilising both expermemtation and improvisation to create something unique is a tough task in today’s world. Zoid seems to have utilised both and has created something that will be tough to top in its field.” – We Are Noise

“This album is a real joy. The odd time signatures add a pleasingly unsteady organic quality that complements the crisp artificial beats.” – ContactLight / Michael Noble

“Plenty of really enjoyable stuff going on here.” – Louder Than War / Philip Neeson

Download the onesheet here

While the title alone is a clear nod to the groundbreaking AFX releases of Richard D. James, and those looking for squelchy breaks and glitchy beats with the occasional old school acid overtone will not be disappointed, Selected ZoiDworks 05-12 is so much more than a frenetic exercise in ambient electronica. (read more below the player…)

Jacobson is a classically trained jazz musician, and from the opening bars of Aerosoul to the asynchronous beats of Particle Dither you are transported to the smoke-filled club of an improvising trio, though the free jazz notes they play were midwifed by a 303. Acid Leaves (with Bruce Morley) builds up to an acid rise and then subverts the expected break with a segue into a classical guitar riff that would not sound out of place on The Deer Hunter soundtrack, a theme continued on the soft yet driven Obelisk.

The ambient East Morning Pier, the darker Bluesqueek and pulsing Cember, and the 8-bit exercise in glitchy thumps Munch would reject any attempt to classify them as jazz, but even here its tempo, breaks and styling continue as a noticeable undercurrent, though one evolved almost beyond recognition.

The jazz/electronica path is one that is not well worn, perhaps because the cut-and-paste rhythmic regularity of a 4/4 laptop beat rarely plays well with the improvised fast-and-loose clashes of an off-tempo noodler. Where Brad Mehldau has drawn on Radiohead for his fusions, Jacobson has created something new and original, organically splicing the two with his own compositions, sometimes seamlessly, sometimes with a jarring dissonance, but always stronger than the sum of their separate traditions.

A difficult task, but done with apparent ease.
Download the onesheet here

About ZoiD

“This album is dedicated to the memory of Bruce Morley, who passed away on 22nd November 2012. An inspirational person who I’m fortunate to have met. In a short space of time he taught me an incredible amount about music and life.” – Daniel Jacobson

ZoiD is one of the many projects of Daniel Jacobson, a Dublin-based musician and producer.
He began using this particular moniker while living in New Zealand in 2005, and it’s been his main outlet for jazz-tinged electronica ever since.

In 2006 he was a participant at the Red Bull Music Academy in Melbourne where he attended workshops and seminars with Soundmurderer, Mu-Ziq, Mark Pritchard, Cut Chemist, Derrick May and others.

His first album, “ZoiD Versus the Jazz Musicians of Ireland Vol 1″ (2007, Diatribe) was a battle between ZoiD’s electronics and six prominent Irish jazz musicians – “this is either the future of jazz, or the end of jazz as we know it” Cormac Larkin, Sunday Tribune. “wonderful future-bop realms” Jim Carroll, Irish Times.

After taking a three year hiatus for world travelling and meditation, he returned in 2011 with “Sundillion EP” by zoiBand. According to Harmless Noise, this was “…a mesmerising, singular release that melds the spirit of jazz with the ghosts of future sounds”.

zoid thanks: lisa, matthew, mum and dad, warren, aoife mooney, robin fuller, dorota konczewska, dennis macnulty, alan o’boyle, eomac, nick and olesya, pawel wysota for the bass notes on jwrong, roger doyle, derek, alan dobbyn, chris o’connore, drew mcmillan

Available now on BandCamp, Amazon, iTunes, Emusic, Google Play, LastFM, and over 30 other stores.

Invisible AgentAdded by: Invisible Agent | 1st February 2013 Leave a comment!

A Bass Odyssey: AgentCast Episode 45 by Warren Daly

Could this be the best of 2012?

I compiled a list of my favorite tracks from the past year or so. It took me a few weeks and I managed to select 80 in total, ranging from Ambient, Bass, to Electronica. The task of mixing them together exposed a particular conundrum, was I allowed to utilize tracks from 2011? Surely I could be flexible, especially if they complemented my selection and made the mix flow better? Since I used a handful of tracks from previous years, I’ve not given the mix an official title of ‘Best of 2012′ but you get the idea. I hope you enjoy the mix.

Thank you to Basil for another fantastic photograph. View more of his photos here

Please, all my mixes are FREE. If you are going to download, please like my Invisible Agent Facebook page or join the mailing list

All our podcast downloads are free, say thanks by following on

RSS | Twitter | Facebook | Google+


Download 145Mb 320K MP3 – AgentCast Episode 45 by Warren Daly

Track – Artist – Label

  1. Projection By Ketsa – Invisible Agent Records
  2. Vooodooo Feat. Reddog E Boombuzz By Voodoo Tapes
  3. Venus Underwater By Adapt
  4. Bell Mountain By Xtrngr
  5. Dry By Rain Dog
  6. Keep On Struggle By Dadub
  7. Light At The End Of The Tunnel By Great Skies
  8. Haku By Cokiyu
  9. Jiggawatt By Circus Of Mind
  10. I Got You By Hazy Memories
  11. I Blame The Weathers By The Northern Hemisphere – Invisible Agent Records
  12. Only You By Sb-Six
  13. Outside Of You By Roughquest
  14. Stardome By Stellardrone
  15. Altitude Control System By No Sync – Invisible Agent Records

Warren DalyAdded by: Warren Daly | 29th January 2013 3 Comments

Invisible Agent Records @ Meta House, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

We are back, we are the true creators. Back to back mixing and live visuals this Saturday 26th of January. Show starts at 9pm and runs until late.  Every month we’ll be evolving to include more live elements. The final objective is to have the perfect balance of live music, live art, visuals and DJs.

Featuring Dr. Wah Wah, Chris Bradbury, Warren Daly, Shine On mixing back to back, live visuals from Dina Chhan. Multiple projectors and other goodies…

Warren DalyAdded by: Warren Daly | 25th January 2013 Leave a comment!

A Bass Odyssey: AgentCast 45 by Warren Daly

Warren Daly – A Bass Odyssey – Agentcast Episode 45 by Invisibleagent on Mixcloud

Warren DalyAdded by: Warren Daly | 22nd January 2013 1 Comment

  • Digital Download Stores

    • Amazon website
    • Bandcamp website
    • Dance Music Hub website
    • DJ Tunes website
    • Emusic website
    • flyfi website
    • Groove Mobile website
    • Groupie Tunes website
    • imeem website
    • isound website
    • iTunes website
    • Juno Download website
    • LaLa website
    • Last FM website
    • LimeWire website
    • LiveWire Mobile website
    • mBop website
    • Mix and Burn website
    • MTraks website
    • MTV3 website
    • Napster website
    • Navio website
    • PureTracks website
    • Rhapsody website
    • ShockHound website
    • TrackItDown website
  • All content © Invisible Agent 2009