Invisible Agent
Netlabel | Vinyl | Electronica | Breakbeat | Electro | Techno | Podcasts | Reviews


Ikeaboy – Metanoia EP Reviews

IkeaboyAdded by: Ikeaboy
12th June 2007

DJ Mag Review of Metanoia Volume 1

DJ Mag

Following Decal’s EP earlier this year on Invisible Agent, Ikeaboy drops an EP that covers underground electro’s many sounds. Apart from the ambient intro ‘flashdead’, there’s the tight, bleepy breaks of ‘Palletscrap’ and the Detroit chords of ‘Bypass Naas Bass’. Ikeaboy also has a fondness for craniun-splitting basslines and the malevolent, lunging bass of ‘Yellow Metal’, as well as Warren Daly’s ominous version of the same track, is the stuff that the worst nightmares are made of.

Rating: ★★★★☆ 

Slick DJ

Damian Tubbritt aka Ikeaboy has been threatening to do a record like this for a long time. While his appetite for powerful electro bass in previous outings has been clear, this time he has set the record straight beyond any doubt. Including a ghoulish, dub shaking remix from Sir Real and a sinister dancefloor interpretation from label boss Warren Daly, it’s the weird jerking feel of ghetto paced tracks like “Pallet Scrap” and “Yellow Metal”, that make this a secret weapon for bass freaks everywhere. An Irish release that deserves your attention, this is storming stuff.

Rating: ★★★★★★★★☆☆ 

Leave Your Comment

  • Digital Download Stores

    • Amazon website
    • Bandcamp website
    • Dance Music Hub website
    • DJ Tunes website
    • Emusic website
    • flyfi website
    • Groove Mobile website
    • Groupie Tunes website
    • imeem website
    • isound website
    • iTunes website
    • Juno Download website
    • LaLa website
    • Last FM website
    • LimeWire website
    • LiveWire Mobile website
    • mBop website
    • Mix and Burn website
    • MTraks website
    • MTV3 website
    • Napster website
    • Navio website
    • PureTracks website
    • Rhapsody website
    • ShockHound website
    • TrackItDown website
  • All content © Invisible Agent 2009